#BlessingsWithGray

There are certain days of the year that everyone counts their blessings. Birthdays, Easter, Christmas, and so many other holidays are all days of the year that people sit down, look at each other, and just thank God for allowing them to be a part of each other’s lives. Is there a reason that we can’t be thankful for our blessings everyday of our lives? I am only 19 years old and quickly I am growing, but in my short life, I have learned so much from people that I would have never thought would be in my life.

Over the past week, I have been praying for everyone around me. I have been praying for safe travels, no heart break, better health, and just a better life over all. I have been talking to my friends about their lives and truly listening to what they have to say. I have been struck so hard by the hardships that others go through everyday, by the lives that others live and I look at my own life thinking, “Why am I worried about myself? I am VERY blessed with what I have!” I simply don’t need anything else in my life to make me happy, but God keeps sending people my way. The past week for me has been one of the most amazing weeks of my life. I have learned more about those around me, I have grown closer to people that I know are going to be my friends for as long as I live, I have been given opportunities that many others don’t have, and I have truly been blessed by God.

Every evening before I go to bed, I thank God for the blessing of him in my life. Every night, I feel loved by something and that is truly special. God loves all of us more than any of us can imagine. God sent his own son to die on the cross for our sins. That is the greatest love of all. When I was younger, I never understood how God can love each of us that much. How am I supposed to know what that much love feels like if I have always had it? How do I know that this love is true? It’s easy! The people that God puts in our lives are what makes our lives truly special.

I have learned in the past few weeks that time with others that believe the same things that you do make your life so much happier. Sitting in shorts and flip-flops on the stairs of a cabin in 30 degree weather discussing life, sitting in a class where someone speaks up and says that they believe that you can do something greater than yourself, playing simple card games in an apartment, or even sitting in the cold behind a coffee shop discussing the power of God shows love. When another person pours out their love to another, a bond is formed. That bond is love and I am blessed each and everyday with the love of all of those people around me. Never be ashamed of who you are because there are people out there just like you. There are people out there that will listen to you and help you through anything, and yes, there are others who are very similar in nature to you that you can find to be close to. God puts people in our lives for a reason. Are there going to be tough times? YES, Of course there are, but God blesses us with the right people to get us through our issues. God stomps the devil lower every time you pray and confess that you have sinned. God will protect you in everything. God blesses all of us constantly and it is important that we not only thank him and focus on our blessings on holidays, but that we focus and thank God for all that we have, everyday of our lives.

Leave a Reply

