#BeforeWithGray

Screen Shot 2016-04-19 at 10.23.45 PM

I was in English class today and it was about ten minutes before class started. My professor simply looked at us and said, “What did people do in awkward silences before cell phones?” I looked at her without even thinking and said, “They started conversations.” Throughout the rest of class, I began thinking about what people did before the age of technology. I was born in 1997 and without a doubt I would call myself a millennial. The last thing I look at every night is my cell phone. I wake up every morning and immediately check my cell phone. Periodically throughout the day, whether I feel a buzz or not, I will check my phone. I was a late bloomer and didn’t even get a cell phone until the second semester of my junior year in High School. I was one of the last ones to be able to look down at my phone all of the time, however, having a smart phone has still effected me. I simply started conversations with other people I was around, but I also remember taking phones from my friends because it felt like they were not listening when I was talking to them. Before phones, people would stand in line at a store and start talking to random people just to say hello. When couples started dating, there didn’t have to be constant conversation between them because it wasn’t possible. A long phone call at the end of the day was all that was available. Honestly, if I talked to someone all of the time about everything I did, what else would there be to talk about when I go out with someone or if I see them in person. Oh, that’s right, people now look at their phones in all conversation and simply talk about what is going on in other people’s lives because they already know what is happening with each other because they have been constantly talking all day. I definitely see technology as a tool, especially a cell phone. If you need to contact someone but are driving, or not in a place where a land line is available, it is good to have it, but just like any other tool, if used incorrectly, it can hurt. Don’t get me wrong, I love my phone and the easy communication that can be done with it, but I also miss having strong conversation with my friends, family, and random acquaintances. It’s gotten to the point that when I go to a restaurant with my friends, we all have to agree not to touch our phones or there will not be any real conversation. It’s hard, but completely true. First person to touch their phone pays the tip! This is not just a complaining message, but a small cry for help, asking everyone to put the phone down, look into people’s eyes when they are talking to you, and embrace what is going on in the world around you. Chances are, you have missed a lot because of staring at your technology.

Leave a Reply

